CompositionASNs or DelegationInternal RegulationsHistoryWall of Fame


In Parma, Italy, Felice Rovelli (ITA) makes it a point of honour to win the World Championship on the track instead of on the green baize like the year before. Not content with being fastest in practice and leading after the qualifying heats, Rovelli wins all three races of the final phase. He then retires from competition.

Read More


Switzerland’s Ernest C. Buser is elected President of the CIK-FIA, a post which he will hold for 21 years. During his successive mandates, he will transform Karting into a sport of world standing by bringing the CIK-FIA Championships to the African, Asian, American and Oceanian continents. Lake Speed (USA) wins a World Championship organised at Le Mans (FRA), thus becoming the first Driver from out of Europe to become world champion. He will continue his career in Motor Sport (NASCAR) in the USA. Tony Zoersl (AUT) finishes second but could have hoped for a better classification if he had not had a collision with Peter de Bruijn (NLD)...Read More


The World Championship takes place at Estoril (PRT), on a temporary track using part of the automobile course. Ayrton Senna da Silva (BRA) victoriously crosses the finishing line of the third and last final believing that he has won the world title. However, he has the same number of cumulated points as his team-mate after the finals, and this tie is settled by an article of the regulations which he had overlooked and is favourable to Peter Koene (NLD), his team-mate in the DAP Team; so Senna is only second – he will regret all his life not having been crowned Karting world champion. Winner of the first of the three finals and leader...Read More