CompositionASNs or DelegationInternal RegulationsHistoryWall of Fame


The World Championship is held at Nivelles (BEL). Winner of the first of the three finals ahead of Peter de Bruijn (NLD), Terry Fullerton (GBR) leads final 2 and contemplates the possibility of taking another title after the one he won in 1973, as only each Driver’s best two results in the three finals are retained for the final classification of the World Championship. However, he is betrayed by his engine and retires. Ayrton Senna (BRA) carries off the second final ahead of de Bruijn. The third final is decisive for the title. De Bruijn prevails and is sacred World Champion ahead of Fullerton and Senna. Yamaha engines make their...Read More


The CIK-FIA decides to increase the cylinder capacity of the top category of Karting, called Formula K, from 100 to 135cc. That capacity will be maintained in the 80’s, but for lack of a market and of interested Manufacturers, and because they are only used in very few championships, 135cc engines will definitively be abandoned at the end of the decade. The World Championship held at Parma (ITA) is dominated from beginning to end by the Birel Team Drivers Mike Wilson (ITA) and Lars Forsman (SWE). Winner of two out of the three finals, Wilson wins his first world title. 100cc engines are still used in the CIK-FIA continental...Read More


Kalmar (SWE) hosts the World Championship for the second time. Until the chequered flag, Mike Wilson (ITA) withstands the pressure exerted by Lars Forsman (SWE). English Champion that same year, the future Formula One Driver Johnny Herbert (GBR) comes 18th. In addition to the World Championship, a European Championship is organised for Formula K (135cc): divided into five rounds, it sees Peter de Bruijn (NLD) prevail. Josef Bertzen (DEU) is the winner of the European 100cc Championship held at Biesheim (FRA), which is exclusively reserved for un-seeded Drivers.

Read More