CompositionASNs or DelegationInternal RegulationsHistoryWall of Fame


Switzerland’s Ernest C. Buser is elected President of the CIK-FIA, a post which he will hold for 21 years. During his successive mandates, he will transform Karting into a sport of world standing by bringing the CIK-FIA Championships to the African, Asian, American and Oceanian continents. Lake Speed (USA) wins a World Championship organised at Le Mans (FRA), thus becoming the first Driver from out of Europe to become world champion. He will continue his career in Motor Sport (NASCAR) in the USA. Tony Zoersl (AUT) finishes second but could have hoped for a better classification if he had not had a collision with Peter de Bruijn (NLD) in the last lap of the first final. It is the Le Mans event which reveals to the European public the tremendous talent of the young funambulist Ayrton Senna da Silva. Stefano Modena (ITA), also a future Formula One Driver, dominates the CIK-FIA Juniors’ Cup on the Mondercange (LUX) circuit. Aage Sondergaard (DNK) becomes the first Danish European Champion when he wins the race at Wohlen (CHE) in the N-140 kg category. Franco Baroni (ITA) takes his third consecutive European 125cc Champion title, while Dave Buttigieg (GBR) lands his second European 250cc kart Championship in three years.