CompositionASNs or DelegationInternal RegulationsHistoryWall of Fame


The World Championship is held at Nivelles (BEL). Winner of the first of the three finals ahead of Peter de Bruijn (NLD), Terry Fullerton (GBR) leads final 2 and contemplates the possibility of taking another title after the one he won in 1973, as only each Driver’s best two results in the three finals are retained for the final classification of the World Championship. However, he is betrayed by his engine and retires. Ayrton Senna (BRA) carries off the second final ahead of de Bruijn. The third final is decisive for the title. De Bruijn prevails and is sacred World Champion ahead of Fullerton and Senna. Yamaha engines make their first, timid appearance in this World Championship. The Japanese make will never manage to reach the top in international Karting competitions. On the other hand, it will highly successfully commercialise a 100cc engine, the KT100, for promotional categories and leisure Karting. Crowned European 125cc Champion at Olomouc (CZE), Milan Simak (CZE) is the first Czech Driver to win a major CIK-FIA title. Simak will subsequently become the Manufacturer of the karts of the brand which bears his initials, MS Kart. The European 100cc Championship is taken at Liedolsheim (DEU) by Tony Zöserl (AUT), while Bernd Schneider (DEU) prevails at Le Creusot (FRA) in the CIK-FIA Juniors’ Cup.