CompositionASNs or DelegationInternal RegulationsHistoryWall of Fame


For the third consecutive time, Mike Wilson (ITA) prevails in the World Championship. However, the main story of the event held at Le Mans (FRA) is created by Michelin, which supplies highly competitive radial tyres to a little known Driver by the name of Patrick Dias (FRA). In spite of his lack of experience in international competitions, Dias invites himself among the favourites during practice, the heats and the pre-final, before weakening in the final. Wilson adds the European title to his 1983 record.

The CIK-FIA launches a new World Championship, for the Formula E category: these 250cc gearbox karts express themselves on automobile circuits and can have a top speed of over 240 km/h. Jyllandsring (DNK), Silverstone (GBR) and Le Mans-Bugatti (FRA) are the three venues. Martin Hines (GBR) and Torgjer Kleppe (NOR) finish with the same number of points but Hines is declared Champion.

Australia hosts its first CIK-FIA Championship, organising the Asia-Pacific Championship in Perth. Lars Forsman (SWE) is entered in the two scheduled categories and carries off both titles, in 100cc ahead of Mike Wilson (ITA) and in 135cc ahead of Heinz-Harald Frentzen (DEU).