CompositionASNs or DelegationInternal RegulationsHistoryWall of Fame


In Liedolsheim (DEU), Mike Wilson (ITA) is on the way to his fourth consecutive title when he is betrayed by his engine only two laps from the finish and must give up victory to Jorn Haase, a Dane who races with an Italian licence. The European Formula K Championship (135cc) is taken by Mike Wilson (ITA), and the European 100cc Championship held over two events sees the win of Stefano Modena (ITA).

For the first time in its history, the CIK-FIA allocates a world event to an Organiser from out of Europe: the first of the four rounds of the World Championship for Formula E (250cc gearbox karts) takes place in Zwartkop, South Africa. Although Brian Heerey (GBR) prevails in this event, the World Championship goes to Lennart Bohlin (SWE) after the fourth round. The CIK-FIA Juniors’ Cup is staged at Laval (FRA). Andrea Gilardi (ITA) ends up as the winner of a breath-taking final and clinches a near “photo finish” win ahead of Yvan Muller (FRA) and Roberto Colciago (ITA). Among the leaders of the event, it is worth noting the names of Michael Schumacher (DEU), who wins the pre-final, of Mikka Hakkinen (FIN), who comes third in the qualifying heats, and of Paul Tracy (CDN).