CompositionASNs or DelegationInternal RegulationsHistoryWall of Fame


There are 68 entries in the World Championship held at Parma (ITA), where Mike Wilson (ITA) lands his fourth title. The CIK-FIA tries to achieve a breakthrough in the United States when it organises the EUR-AM Cup in Las Vegas on a circuit which reproduces the Parma track almost identically on the huge car park of a hotel-casino. Gianni Morbidelli (ITA) finishes ahead of Mike Wilson (ITA). Martin Bott (DEU) is crowned European Formula K Champion at the end of a five-round course. The European Inter A (100cc) Championship comprises two rounds: the first one, at Geesthacht (DEU), sees a one-two of the DAP Team Drivers Alessandro Zanardi (ITA) and Vincenzo Sospiri (ITA), who unexpectedly do not participate in the second event, held at Vojens (DNK), for fear of being upgraded to Formula K the following year if they had achieved a good result! Gert Munkholm (DK) wins in Vojens but the title is carried off by Jukka Virtanen (FIN). The CIK-FIA Juniors’ Cup is organised at Le Mans (FRA), where Andrea Gilardi (ITA) manages to withstand the constant pressure exerted on him in the final by Michael Schumacher (DEU). Allan Mc Nish (GBR) comes third. Poul Petersen (DNK) is crowned World Formula E Champion (250cc).