CompositionASNs or DelegationInternal RegulationsHistoryWall of Fame


The CIK-FIA revises the structure of its championships and categories. As Formula K (135cc) has difficulty in prevailing, the CIK-FIA reintroduces a World Championship for 100cc karts, in a category called Super-100, which will see 9 Rotax engines work their way to the Top 10. The circuit of Laval (FRA) has therefore the privilege of crowning two World Champions on the same day and, furthermore, after very hard-fought finals until the very last metre of the races: Mike Wilson (ITA) wins his trial of strength with Giampiero Simoni (ITA) in Formula K, and in Super-100 Emmanuel Collard (FRA) beats Fabrizio De Simone (ITA). After a 5-race course, the European Champions of these two categories are Federico Gemmo (ITA) in Formula K and Gert Munkholm (DNK) in Super-100. Held at Kecskemet (HON), the World 125cc Championship sees the victory of Peter Rydell (SWE), the only non-Italian who has ever managed to win the supreme title in that category. The World Cup for Juniors is landed by Gianluca Malandruco (ITA) while Martijn Koene (NLD) takes the European ICA title. Poul Petersen (DNK) is crowned World Formula E Champion (250cc) for the second time in his career.