CompositionASNs or DelegationInternal RegulationsHistoryWall of Fame


Laval (FRA) hosts the World Championship, which is won by Nicola Gianniberti (ITA) in Formula Super A (the former Formula K) and David Terrien (FRA) in Formula A. Gianniberti achieves a perfect season, adding to his world crown a European Champion title and winning the World Cup in Suzuka, where he finishes ahead of Giancarlo Fisichella (ITA) and Jarno Trulli (ITA). Alessandro Piccini (ITA) prevails at Val Vibrata (ITA) in the World Championship for Formula C (125cc gearbox karts), ahead of Gianluca Beggio (ITA) and Tsuyoshi Takahashi, the first Japanese Driver on the podium of a Karting World Championship. In the Palais Omnisports de Paris-Bercy (FRA) a great indoor show dedicated to Karting is organised, with the participation of many Formula One Drivers, including Ayrton Senna (BRA) and Alain Prost (FRA).