CompositionASNs or DelegationInternal RegulationsHistoryWall of Fame


Michael Schumacher (DEU), who is already armed with two Formula One World Champion titles, challenges and smashes the kartists on the occasion of the Monaco Kart Cup and of the Masters of Paris-Bercy (FRA).

In order to put an end to the parsimonious distribution of “special” compounds by the tyre Manufacturers to some privileged Drivers, the CIK-FIA implements the principle of allocating tyres by drawing lots in its top categories, Formulae Super A and A. This decision is so successful that the first race of the European Formula Super A Championship is won by a private Team and a private Driver, Ward Racing and Johan Agrell (SWE)! The second European Championship race of the season is taken by a female Driver, Lotta Hellberg (SWE). However, after the four rounds of the European Championship, the final victory is for Johnny Mislijevic (SWE), who doubles this success by clinching the World Championship. In Formula A, the world title falls to Jean-Christophe Ravier (FRA), and in the European Championship, Giorgio Pantano (ITA) ends up winning a long duel with Anthony Davidson (GBR). The Juniors’ “5 Continents Cup” sees the final success of Fernando Alonso (ESP) after the domination of Ryan Briscoe (AUS) in all the preliminary phases.