CompositionASNs or DelegationInternal RegulationsHistoryWall of Fame


Back in Karting after unsuccessfully switching to Motor Sport, Danilo Rossi (ITA) adds a third world title to his list of results: at Salbris (FRA) he prevails in Formula Super A. As for the European Championship of the same category, it sees the crowning of Jenson Button (GBR). The list of prize winners of the 1997 season is resolutely international, with the world Formula A title won by James Courtney (AUS), the North-American Formula A Championship victory of André Nicastro (BRA) and the historic double achieved by the Japanese Kazushi Sano (Formula Super A) and Kosuke Matsuura (Formula A) in the World Cup at Suzuka (JPN), against European competitors who were however very talented. Despite a seriously and painfully injured arm, Gianluca Beggio (ITA) landed at Ugento his third consecutive world title in Formula C, only a few weeks after he was crowned European Champion in the same category. In ICC, Filippo Flenghi (ITA) secured the European title right from the second out of the three scheduled events. Having prevailed in practice, all the heats and the prefinal, Fernando Alonso (ESP) was the sole responsible for making a mistake in the final of the European ICA Championship and had to retire, thus opening the way for Alessandro Balzan (ITA ). As for Antonio Garcia (ESP), he received the European Champion’s laurels in Formula A, at the end of a closely-fought duel with Alban Martinet (FRA). Dutch Drivers dominated the CIK-FIA weekend reserved for younger Drivers, Nelson Van der Pol taking the European Juniors title and Michael Koel winning the Green Helmet Trophy for Cadets.