CompositionASNs or DelegationInternal RegulationsHistoryWall of Fame


2007 is the year of the introduction of KF engines, of the Italian Marco Ardigo and of British Drivers. Ten Manufacturers have embarked on the adventure of the KF engines chosen to succeed the 100cc thoroughbreds which upset the rev counters – so much so that they rotated at over 20,000 rpm! – as well as starting to be unreliable. For reasons of sporting, practical, economical and environmental logic, there was a need for an evolution more in keeping with the modernity of our society.

TFrom their predecessors, the “KFs” have only retained their belonging to the 2-stroke family. For their design, the Manufacturers had to start from scratch and add many new parameters: balancing shaft, electric starter, clutch, integrated water pump, ignition with a rev limiter, exhaust valve and regulated combustion chamber volume.

After one year’s experience, conclusions were rather positive as these engines are more user-friendly and reliable (several finals were held without any retirements), and there is a welcome reduction in noise nuisances.

Promoted No. 1 Tony Kart Driver as a result of Fore’s signing for Maranello, Marco Ardigo accomplished a grand slam by successively taking KF1’s World Cup at Suzuka (JPN), the European Championship and the World Championship at Mariembourg (BEL). During this World Championship, he finished ahead of his team-mate Gary Gatt (GBR) and Nikolaj Bollingtoft (DNK). On the same day, Michael Ryall (who has a Belgian licence but a British nationality) carries off the World Cup for KF2.

The year 2007 has in fact been prosperous for British Drivers as to the performance achieved by Catt and Ryall were added the European title of Gavin Bennett (Superkart), Max Goff’s victory in the Monaco Kart Cup, the winning one-two-three in the European KF3 Championship with Jack Harvey, Tom Grice and James Thorp, and the double crowning in KF2 of Will Stevens (Europe and Asia-Pacific). Jonathan Thonon (BEL) lands at Sarno the World Cup for KZ1 which he missed one year before because of a jumped start penalty. The European titles of gearbox karts were taken by Alessandro Manetti (ITA) in KZ1 and by Thomas Knopper (NDL) in KZ2.