CompositionASNs or DelegationInternal RegulationsHistoryWall of Fame


Marco Ardigo (ITA) followed in his own footsteps on the World Championship records. He also landed a fourth consecutive European Champion title, although he has to admit that he benefited from a dramatic turn of events with the retirement of Arnaud Kozlinski (FRA) in the final race of the continental tour, at Braga (PRT). Davide Fore (ITA) fills the last lacuna on his list of results by winning the event of Suzuka (JPN) which earns him the World Cup for KF1. In both Japan and the World Championship, Libor Toman (CZE) creates a sensation by obtaining two brilliant runner-up results. The World Cup for KF2 disclosed the name of its actual award-winner after several weeks only: the first to take the chequered flag on the track, Flavio Camponeschi (ITA), had to face a reported positive anti-doping control: further to his exclusion, he got a suspended licence for six months. Olivier Rowland (GBR) prevails in Japan within the framework of the Asia-Pacific Championship. The European Juniors Championship (KF3) is dominated by a Finnish one-two composed of Aaro Vainio and Joni Wiman.

420 Drivers were entered in the Qualifications to the European KF2 and KF3 Championships. Although the scope of KF categories was extended in this second year, they also went through a period of serious turbulence because of the twisted use of clutches transformed into “variators” aimed at gaining performance. The CIK-FIA rapidly reacted and restored the order by itself fitting on the karts tell-tales capable of tracing the excessive slipping of clutches. In order to exert better control of the starts, the CIK-FIA has introduced a new procedure which consists in checking the karts’ approach speed toward the line and channelling them into two lanes, thus compelling Drivers to reach the Starter over two very distinct and ordered lines.

As regards gearbox karts Jonathan Thonon (BEL) proves unbeatable in KZ1, winning the World Cup and the European Championship, while Tony Lavanant (FRA) dons the European KZ2 crown. Peter Elkmann (DEU) lands the European Superkart Championship driving at the wheel of an MS Kart, a make which until then was known for its “short circuit” type chassis.